CRM's

CRM's

Postby Gerry Laughlin » Tue Oct 09, 2007 8:55 am

Dale and Linda,
I really do not want to hi-jack the thread this was started on so I thought I would go with a new one.
We have had a CRM in this store for a few years now, and not once have I seen anything happen that wasnt done to placate the system. The managers do not use it to accomplish anything, no reports, no follow-ups or anything. As a parts manager I liken it to having a special order system to track special orders, but not using it to call the customers when their parts come in. Now this might seem to be an isolated phenomenon, but the last two stores I have been at treated the CRM the exact same way. The last store had the DMSs CRM which was just so overwhelming that trying to keep that going would have been a full time job. At this store we have been in discussions with another CRM vendor because the sales manager is more familiar with it, but personally I feel as though it would just be easier for him to placate that system, I doubt he would run reports or follow-ups on that any more than he does now, but it would be easier to keep it off his butt. It seems to me that most sales managers would rather have no CRM, and only have them because the owners or GMs want them in place.
My own opinion is that primary reason for this is that most CRMs are Goliaths, when the sales managers want a David, small and quick. As a parts manager I would find it impossible to run my department without a good management system, but it appears as though the Sales types view the CRM as an evil pushed on them by upper management. I have been tasked with reviewing our current CRM status and coming up with a system that is actually going to be used. I welcome any comments.
Gerry
Gerry Laughlin

CRM's

Postby jazdale » Tue Oct 09, 2007 4:42 pm

Gerry

Here's my perspective.

A CRM system does not make a dealership CRM-minded.