lost wholesale accounts

lost wholesale accounts

Postby reagan » Wed Oct 09, 2002 11:41 am

I am a new Parts Manager of a small Nissan Dealership. I took over this position in April of this year. Since I started we have been lossing Wholesale accounts every month. I have taken a big hit in sales and gross profit. The Department is well staffed now with experienced personell and we have a good size inventory at our disposal. We are not able to reclaim most of the accounts we loose. Most of the accounts site the change in managment and dealership instability as the reason.

I have been in the automotive business for over 15 years. My previous position was in wholesale at a dealership that was extremly aggresive in that area. I have used most of what I learned there but it does not seem to be working. Does anyone have any ideas?
reagan

lost wholesale accounts

Postby jdaniel » Wed Oct 09, 2002 5:53 pm

I think you need to go out and talk to a few of the lost customers, actually sit down with a couple of them in their shops and try to see what is going on. I've seen situations where customers just weren't happy with the change and took their business elsewhere, in spite of the department actually getting stronger. We recovered many of them quickly with a little extra effort. I have also seen dramatic loss of wholesale business in a store after a parts manager change- a bit of digging proved that the old manager was "creative" in his business practices. After reflection it was decided that those customers weren't as much of a loss as it originally appeared.

If you get any clues please share them, someone here can help.

Good Luck
jdaniel

lost wholesale accounts

Postby reagan » Wed Oct 09, 2002 7:12 pm