GM WARRANTY CODING

GM WARRANTY CODING

Postby MARY SHERICK » Tue Mar 02, 1999 9:19 pm

I AM CURIOUS TO KNOW HOW MOST OF YOU LEARNED TO CODE GM WARRANTY. I KNOW I AM SELF-TAUGHT, AND WAS MORE FORTUNATE THAN MOST. I AM JUST CURIOUS HOW THOSE NOT FAMILIAR WITH THE MECHANICAL ASPECTS OF VEHICLES LEARNED. IT SEEMS TO ME THAT THIS KIND OF TRAINING IS NOT WIDELY AVAILABLE. I AM IN THE PROCESS OF TRAINING A PERSON RIGHT NOW, AND CAN SEE HOW DIFFICULT SOME OF THIS IS FOR HER TO GRASP. WELL?

------------------
MARY SHERICK

GM WARRANTY CODING

Postby dmroper » Tue Mar 02, 1999 11:31 pm

We use R&R-

For the longest time, I was data-entry only. Tech works a job line then goes to the warranty room in the shop to get paid and d/o his part, forwards the papers to the cashier who prices out the ticket and delivers the vehicle. Then, we 'clean scan and index' the parerwork. Then paperwork would go to the warranty room. Claims and ops were entered in the warranty room, paperwork then came back to me (in the service office, where I invoiced warranty tickets, manually submitted through DCS and posted credit memos). I'd assemble the claim memo, give the warranty room the rejects, wait for r/s and post credit memo and forward it back to the warranty room for scrapping. I'd get it back after 15 days and file it in the service office.

It was a tedious process, and I'm glad we don't do it that way anymore.

I know nothing of coding, and constantly had to be in contact with the clerks in the warranty room to check on claims.

Eventually, they moved me back to the warranty room, and I had to learn coding. First, I copied the pages from the latest WINS claims processing manual showing complaint codes and failed codes, and laminated them. We recently received a nice cheat sheet from j&l too.. Whenever I had a moment, I'd also peruse the LTG. I'd remember a tech coming to get paid, and look up that op, and try to visualize where in the vahicle I'm at.