Tech pay for Inpsections?

Tech pay for Inpsections?

Postby kevinm » Wed Feb 12, 2014 3:07 pm

This is an age old question, but what does everyone doing for paying flat rate techs for MPVI's?

I am fairly new to a GM store that has been hourly tech pay since inception and have put in a flat rate pay plan starting April 1st (no joke).

Needless to say, the line techs are a little on edge... Especially the ones that I am paying 40 hours to that are only producing 28-32 hours consistently. Now that the fact that they are going flat rate is sinking in, the questions and grumblings are coming quickly- the hot button being what they are going to get paid to do MPVI's.

As of last week the only vehicles that recieved an MPVI were oil changes, starting yesterday I put a policy in place that we will inspect 100% of the vehicles in the shop excluding some recalls and vehicles returning for special order parts within a set time frame. My thought process tells me that the same visit upsell being less than $10/RO is unacceptable, and that by inspecting all customer vehicles we are building trust with the customer so that when we DO find a legitimate repair the customer will have US do the work. My mind also tells me as a former tech and 9 year Service Manager that not paying techs to do MPVI's is pretty common- it puts the responsibility on their shoulders for helping create their own economy basically. It cannot be soley laid on the advisers to keep the techs busy 100% of the time, its a team effort!

So, now that I have spewed all that out, what does everyone else do for MPVI pay? (We currently pay techs .6 for a LOF/MPVI, NO time for an MPVI without LOF).

Thanks!
kevinm

Re: Tech pay for Inpsections?

Postby X476 » Wed Feb 12, 2014 4:34 pm

Though I am not an expert by any means, tech should not paid for inspections, their pay comes from what NEEDED repairs they find. Make sure you get your advisors trained up on selling skills so they can effectively sell what is found.